Popular Networking certifications

Author cavsi Category: IT certifications Tags:

A network certification can help you to get ahead in your career. Network certifications are credentials you can earn to demonstrate you have the knowledge and skills to work with networks in the information technology field. In this article, we are going to learn more about some popular Networking certifications.

AIS – Advanced Information Security

AIS is a computer security certification for the network IT and security professional that focuses on assessing security risks and prevent security breaches. Security University offers the Advance Information Security certification. AIS is an advanced course that requires expert knowledge of security technologies.

How to become AIS certified (Advanced Information Security)?

To get the AIS certification you must attend eight classes and pass an exam upon completion of each course.

AIS certification focus on two different areas: Computer Security Fundamentals (4 classes) and Anti-Hacking Certification (4 classes).

In general, AIS courses focus on planning In general, AIS courses focus on the planning and implementation of security technologies. Obtaining this certification shows that a person has in-depth knowledge of security applications and other relevant technologies.

Cost: Class prices run $1,200 to $2,500 each. It includes an exam at the end of the course.

CompTIA A+

The CompTIA A+ certification demonstrates competency as a computer technician. This certification indicates that the holder has the skills and training to troubleshoot and repair computers. CompTIA A+ certification is a vendor-neutral certification that includes numerous technologies and operating systems from such vendors as Microsoft, Apple Inc., Novell, and Linux.

A+ is a popular certification for entry-level hardware technicians. Most important, A+ is one of the most popular certifications worldwide. It is for anyone who wants an internationally recognized credential as a competent computer service professional.

How to become CompTIA A+ certified?

Computing Technology Industry Association (CompTIA) sponsors the A+ certification. To obtain an A+ certification, a person must pass two tests: the 220-801 exam and the 220-802 exam.

The following materials are part of the exams:

  • A PC with Microsoft Windows XP, Vista, 7, or 8
  • Grounding pad
  • Anti Static Wrist Strap (ESD Bracelet or Ground Bracelet)
  • Phillips head screwdriver
  • Flathead screwdriver
  • Calculator

These topics are part of the CompTIA A+ 220-801 certification exam:

  • PC Hardware
  • Networking
  • Laptops
  • Printers
  • Operational Procedures

These topics are part of the CompTIA A+ 220-802 certification exam:

  • Operating Systems
  • Security
  • Mobile Devices
  • Troubleshooting

CBNT – Certified Broadcast Networking Technologist

CBNT is a certification for persons who wish to demonstrate a basic familiarity with networking hardware used in business and audio/video applications in broadcast facilities. The Society of Broadcast Engineers (SBE) regulates the CBNT certification. Getting this certification shows competence in computer network equipment and their specialized applications in radio and television broadcast stations.

CCA – Citrix Certified Administrator

CCA (Citrix Certified Administrator) is a certification for those who are responsible for setting up Citrix application servers and systems. IT associates take CCA certification to focus on validating core implementation skills. The Citrix Certified Administrator (CCA) spans Citrix solutions, validating the skills necessary to implement a specific Citrix product.

How to become a CCA (Citrix Certified Administrator)?

The CCA is available for virtually all Citrix product lines:

Desktop Virtualization

  • XenDesktop 5
  • XenDesktop 4
  • XenApp 6
  • XenApp 5 for Windows Server ’08
  • XenApp 5 for Windows Server ’03
  • Citrix XenApp 6
  • Citrix XenApp 5 for Windows Server ’08

Datacenter and Cloud

  • CCA for XenServer 6


  • NetScaler 10
  • NetScaler 9
  • Access Gateway 9 Enterprise Edition

To obtain a CCA certification you must take the corresponding training course, and after the course pass the exam.

Cost: The exam costs $150. Training courses run $1,000 to $1,500.

CCEA – Citrix Certified Enterprise Administrator

The CCEA program expands your knowledge of Citrix products and gives you even more extensive experience installing and administering Citrix products such as Citrix Management Services, Load Balancing Services, Program Neighborhood and Citrix NFuse.

How to become a CCEA (Citrix Certified Enterprise Administrator)?

To obtain a Citrix Certified Enterprise Administrator you must:

  • Obtain the CCA certifications for Citrix XenApp, Citrix XenServer, and Citrix XenDesktop.
  • Take four of the ten available exams.
  • Complete the CCEA Application Process.
  • Take an exam. You must pass the current exam within 6 months of retirement to remain certified.

Cost: Each exam costs approximately $150. Training courses run $1,000 to $1,500.

On July 31, 2012, Citrix Certified Enterprise Administrator (CCEA) certification expired. Citrix no longer recognizes this as a valid certification.

Help us to continue answering your questions. Did you like this article? Make a reference to "https://www.cavsi.com/" or copy and paste the below HTML text:
Popular Networking certificationsPopular Networking certifications

Related Posts: